Decades of success holding wrongdoers accountable.
We are attorneys with trial-tested experience representing those seriously injured or killed through no fault of their own. We take fewer cases so we can focus more on you and your path to recovery. We have a unique understanding of the law and skills needed to succeed in personal injury, medical malpractice, and nursing home abuse and neglect claims. We build value by building relationships with our clients. We use years of experience trying complex cases to juries to achieve fair settlements out of court when possible and to obtain full and fair compensation in the courtroom when necessary.
We handle a variety of injury-related cases in Richmond, VA
We dedicate ourselves to helping people seriously injured and the families of those killed by negligent drivers, healthcare providers, property owners, and corporations. We only pursue meritorious cases that are supported by the facts and the law. We limit our practice to serious cases because we do our best work when we know our clients. If we accept your case, you will have direct access to your attorneys.
Unlike many lawyers representing injured people and the families of those killed, we have significant jury trial experience that insurance companies respect. We will take your case to a jury if the insurance company is not willing to settle on fair terms considering the facts and the law.
We can help you with the following types of cases:
Michael Lantz has over 30 years of experience in representing injured people and fighting for justice. His specialties include medical malpractice, automobile accident cases, nursing home negligence cases and premise liability cases.
I want to personally thank you for your excellent professionalism in both of my cases. As you know 2017 was a horrible year for me. But the positive of it, I've learned + grown so much since then. Thank you, thank you, thank you. From my family to yours.
The Adams Family
You are good people who get the job done. Thank you. I will get you over and over again. You know your job. And I love you for the good work you did.
"Dear Attorney Robins, I thank you for taking the time to pursue my case for the car accident. The service was excellent. May you continue to fight for justice."
If you are driving without insurance in Virginia (VA), you are playing Russian roulette. That is because driving without insurance in VA can lead to significant consequences. If you have been in a car accident and were without insurance, there are additional risks and considerations. The best way to address a driving without insurance case is for you to hire experienced Virginia attorneys with a long record of success. Virginia Motor Vehicle Law Regarding Insurance The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (VA DMV) mandates that to purchase license plates or decals (the first step to legalizing your motor vehicle), you must certify that you have at least minimum insurance coverage for the vehicle. Virginia requires the following minimum coverage: Bodily injury/death of one person $25,000, Bodily injury/death of two or more persons $50,000, and Property damage $20,000. The State of Virginia must also have authorized your insurance carrier to conduct business in this state. Is There Any Way to Legally Drive Without Insurance In Virginia? If you do not have insurance, you must pay a required uninsured motor vehicle fee. Paying the DMV this uninsured motor vehicle fee is the only option to legally operate a vehicle without insurance. Therefore, if you drive without insurance in VA and have not paid the uninsured motor vehicle fee, you are driving illegally. This is ill advised, as doing so puts you at great legal risk. What Is the Fine for Driving Without Insurance? Virginia Criminal Code and the VA DMV address consequences for the act of driving without insurance and not in compliance with the uninsured motorist rule. The potential outcome for violating the insurance laws include a fine of $500 or more and a Class 3 misdemeanor conviction. You may also face suspension of: Your driver license, Vehicle registration certificates, and Vehicle license plates. Driving without insurance after falsely certifying that you have insurance adds additional financial penalties. These fees often include: A $600 non-compliance fee, and A $145 reinstatement fee. You may also thereafter be required to file proof of insurance and financial responsibility for three years. What Happens If You Are Caught Driving Without Insurance and Get in an Accident? You may face the most significant cost for driving without insurance if you are in an accident. As an uninsured motorist, you may be personally liable for any costs to you or the other driver. This is true even if you have paid the uninsured motorist fee, as that fee does not provide you with any insurance coverage. Without question, you will need legal help from car accident attorneys to manage the complexities that can come from criminal sanctions and lawsuits you may face. What If I Didn’t Know My Insurance Expired? It is not relevant whether you knew that your once-valid insurance expired. If you are operating a vehicle without insurance and have not paid the uninsured motorist fee, you violate the law. How Can an Attorney Help Me? Accomplished attorneys who handle traffic and accident cases understand that people make mistakes. They are available to help people address those mistakes by protecting their rights during hearings regarding driving without a license. A fallacy is that you do not need a lawyer if you are going to admit to guilt. You will need lawyers to represent you during that process to ensure that the judicial system hears your voice and that you are treated fairly during the process. A firm specializing in traffic offenses will also help you understand any obligations you may face for violation of the law. Along with offering the above, our attorneys in Lantz and Robins, P.C., are equally committed to fighting charges on behalf of our clients. If you have been stopped by law enforcement and charged with driving without insurance, we will begin by investigating the actions of the police. There are rules they must follow to stop someone, and we will hear from you to evaluate whether they followed those rules. Finally, you need a lawyer who can work with the DMV and prosecutors regarding fighting your charges if there is evidence to do so. Being charged with driving without insurance does not mean that the charge is always valid. Attorneys know the law and will be prepared to ensure parties in our judicial system are not acting beyond their powers in their attempts to charge, prosecute, and sentence you. All too often, people feel that they know how to handle their traffic and insurance cases. However, the knowledge, experience, and successful case history of Lantz & Robins, PC, cannot be overstated. It is well worth your time to seek a free consultation with one of our lawyers. Lantz and Robins, P.C.: Your Richmond, VA-Based Car Accident Lawyers Our firm focuses on car and traffic accident cases. We have extensive experience handling cases involving vehicle insurance issues. We are a compassionate team of lawyers, and we never stop working toward delivering the best results for our clients. Lantz and Robins, P.C., is grateful to have clients happy with our services time and again provide strong testimonials on our behalf. Lantz and Robins, P.C., is a firm you can trust to handle your case correctly and provide you with personalized service. With Lantz and Robins, P.C., you are more than a number, and skilled, dedicated attorneys handle your case. We are based in Richmond, Virginia, and our team of experienced trial attorneys is ready to help. For more information or to schedule your free consultation, please call 804-938-6393 or reach us via our website.
Distracted driving results in thousands of car accidents in Virginia every year. In an effort to combat a leading cause of distracted driving, many states enacted legislation prohibiting talking on the phone while driving. Virginia passed legislation aimed to reduce the number of drivers using cell phones in 2007. In 2021, lawmakers determined the previous law was too lax and adopted a more stringent law for Virginia drivers caught talking on a phone while driving. If you have more specific questions about Virginia’s cell phone laws, reach out to our attorneys at Lantz and Robins, P.C. Distracted Driving Statistics in Virginia The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles reported in 2019 that 827 deaths occurred on Virgina roadways. 120 fatalities occurred due to distracted driving. Despite the staggering numbers, a large portion of car accidents are preventable. According to a study by the Virginia Tech Transportation Institute, distractions like cell phone use, reading, or searching for objects attribute to nearly 80% of all car accidents. The study, which was funded by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, found: Texting while driving increased the risk of a crash by two times; Activities performed while making a phone call increased the risk of a crash by three times; Hands-free phone use is safer than hand-held phone use; and The average driver takes his or her eyes off the road for 23 seconds total when sending a text message. The findings illustrate the dangers of distracted driving. Virginia Law on Cell Phone Use While Driving The former Virginia law prohibited the use of handheld personal communication devices in certain motor vehicles. The statute specifically prohibited using a cell phone to: Manually enter multiple letters or text into the device as a means of communication; or Read emails or text messages. The prohibitions applied only to a person operating a moving motor vehicle. The statute also outlawed a driver from holding a portable cell phone while driving through a highway work zone. The new law, HB 874, prohibits the operator of a motor vehicle from holding their cell phone while driving. Exceptions Cell phone use is allowed when drivers are stopped or parked legally. Thus, talking on the phone in a parked car is not illegal in Virginia. Drivers may use their cell phone while driving when attempting to report an emergency. Operators of emergency vehicles who are engaged in their official duties are not restricted from using cell phones. Penalties Virginia law imposes penalties on drivers who fail to comply with the prohibition of holding a cellphone while driving. The first offense results in a fine of $125. The second offense results in a fine of $250. Violating the statute in a work zone results in a $250 fine. Is Talking on a Phone in a Car Always Illegal in Virginia? Virginia’s strict cell phone law does not restrict all methods of using a cell phone. Drivers can use their cell phone’s Bluetooth or voice control capabilities to make phone calls as long as the phone is not in their hands. Under Virginia law, talking on a cellphone while driving is permitted for drivers as long as it is done by using the phone’s hands-free capabilities. Despite its legality, hands-free technology can contribute to distracted driving just like using a cellphone in your hand. Do Cell Phone Laws Really Make Roads Safer? Some form of prohibition on cell phone use while driving has been enacted in every state in the nation, except Montana. State laws prohibiting drivers from holding a cellphone while operating a motor vehicle are known as hand-held bans. Twenty-five states and Washington D.C. currently have hand-held bans in place. Every other state, except Montana and Missouri, prohibits text messaging while driving. Missouri prohibits texting only for drivers under 21 years of age. According to a study published in the scientific journal Pediatrics, states with strict cell phone laws have succeeded in preventing certain fatalities. The study operated on the assumption that distracted driving increases the risk of car accidents, especially in teenagers. With that in mind, researchers evaluated how state laws affected this behavior. The study included fatal crashes involving drivers and passengers between the ages of 16 and 19 between 2007 and 2017. They compared rates across multiple states that had different types of cellphone while driving laws. The study found that there were over 38,000 fatal crashes in the requested time period. The data indicated that states with stricter cell phone use laws had lower fatality rates overall than states without. Outright bans on handheld cell phone use demonstrated the greatest decrease in fatalities. What Do I Do If I Received a Ticket for Talking on a Cellphone While Driving? If you received a ticket for talking on the phone while driving in Virginia, don’t panic. The circumstances of the situation determine whether you truly violated the Virginia law on cell phone use. Our attorneys at Lantz and Robins, P.C., can help you determine what steps to take next. Michael Lantz and Rand Robins have decades of experience litigating complicated legal issues. If you are considering contacting an attorney about Virginia driving laws, all you have to do is dial our number. Contact us today for a free case evaluation.
Despite numerous pandemic deaths, Virginia still has no rules dictating minimum nursing home staffing requirements. According to recent AARP statistics, Virginia’s nursing home COVID-19 death rate is the country’s second-highest. However, the state’s nursing home staffing issues began long before the pandemic. Some of Virginia’s nursing homes consistently receive low marks year after year, with several facilities garnering federal attention for immediate corrective action. The lack of proper Virginia nursing home staffing requirements has contributed to many of the ongoing issues multiple facilities have encountered in recent years. When there is a lack of staff, the residents are the ones who suffer. There tends to be a direct link between understaffing in a nursing home and increased neglect and abuse cases. In 2019, Richmond Times-Dispatch published an expose on the problems plaguing some of Virginia’s nursing homes. The title tells you all you need to know: “Bedsores, burns and a maggot: 5 Va. nursing homes on federal list of persistent underperformers.” Legislation to Establish Minimum Staffing Ratios Died Despite the increase in deaths due to the pandemic, there’s still no current Virginia legislation addressing minimum staffing requirements for nursing homes. 2020 marked the 16th time a proposal to set minimum staffing requirements was brushed off, even though Virginia nursing homes continue to be ranked so low. The proposal came from state Senator Jennifer Kiggans, R-Virginia Beach, who wants nursing homes to provide a minimum of one direct-care staffer per six patients. The current reality is that some caregivers are assigned three to seven times that number. Some nurses have reported they are typically assigned anywhere between 20 and 40 patients every shift. Nurses being overworked means they can’t adequately care for residents, ensure high-risk patients are appropriately monitored, etc. That is why neglect and abuse are rampant within the Virginia nursing home system. Even though the proposal was shot down in 2020, legislators ordered the Department of Health to create a workgroup that would review and share recommendations on how to increase the Virginia nursing home workforce. Updates to the Proposal in 2021 Fast forward to 2021, and it’s now the 17th time this proposal was killed. The workgroup held meetings, but when the final list came out, the top three recommendations out of 34 were focused on creating optional service-learning credits for students who were volunteering in these long-term care facilities. Further down on the list were proposals that would pay facilities a higher Medicaid reimbursement amount if they achieved specific nursing home staffing ratios. The first suggestion was to start at 12 patients to one caregiver and eventually reach the desired six-to-one ratio over the following four budget cycles. Lobbyists for nursing homes voted against both of these recommendations. The Virginia Health Care Association—Virginia Association of Assisted Living, was against instituting any type of staff-to-resident ratio. They argue that there needs to be more credentialed health care professionals in Virginia and that establishing staff-to-resident ratios isn’t going to work without having certified nurses who want to be there. How Nursing Home Staff Ratios Contributed to COVID-19 Deaths While staffing shortages existed long before the pandemic, COVID-19 exacerbated them, further contributing to the virus’s spread. According to the Virginia Department of Health, long-term care facilities are the second biggest source of outbreaks. There have been over 31,000 cases of COVID-19 in long-term care facilities, resulting in nearly 4,000 deaths. The next highest source of cases is at correctional facilities, with just over 18,000 cases and only 61 deaths. Those are significantly lower numbers than in nursing homes. One of the reasons COVID-19 spread so rapidly through nursing homes is due to the shortage of staff. Many of the low-paid staff work at multiple facilities. If they contracted the virus and worked in two to three facilities in the same week, imagine all the people they exposed. Staffing shortages also led to not isolating positive COVID-19 patients from the negative ones. For nursing home residents, nursing home staffing issues literally mean the difference between life and death right now. Virginia Nursing Homes Continue to Rank Low Virginia nursing homes consistently fall to the bottom of the charts on various ranking criteria. For example, Families for Better Care has ranked Virginia as 36 overall with an overall grade of “D” for the third consecutive time. The report card shows residents receive less than two hours and 17 minutes of direct care daily. Three out of four nursing homes didn’t reach an above-average rating in the inspection. Overall, nursing home care in Virginia is second to the bottom for the Mid-Atlantic Region, barely squeezing above Pennsylvania as the worst state. What to Do If You Suspect Nursing Home Neglect or Abuse Deciding to move a loved one to a long-term care facility is complicated enough in normal times. Having to do it during the pandemic is even worse. It’s crucial to do your research to find the best long-term care facility for your family member. However, even if you choose the best one, there’s no guarantee that residents are fully protected against neglect and abuse. To help protect your loved ones, you must monitor your family member’s condition and watch for red flags of abuse and neglect. If you suspect something is amiss, speak with a skilled Virginia nursing home abuse attorney right away. At Lantz & Robins, P.C., we have decades of combined experience handling nursing home abuse cases. Contact our office to schedule an initial consultation. Let us review your situation and explain the best course of legal action.